Wk2 – Art Experience – Landscapes With A Corpse

first_shot

second_shot

third_shot

fourth_shot

fifth_shot

For this week’s art experience I decided to do a depiction of a girl dealing with dementia who copes with her memory loss by writing notes to herself each day to remember what she must do. However, things take a turn when one of her notes, the one that reminds her to take her medication, washes away as she is washing the dishes which causes her to forget to take her meds before bed resulting in her death.

At first glance, I thought that this was going to be an easy project to do but once I was actually doing it, it proved to be a little more challenging than I had anticipated.  The lighting was probably the biggest issue I had to deal with; unfortunately, I did do this project when it was cloudy outside so, despite turning the lights on inside and even using the flash on my brother’s phone at one point, it made things a little difficult. The shot of me at the sink took a couple shots to get right since the sink we were using was outdoors which, again, because of the lighting, made things look grainy and limited the amount of angles we could try since the writing on my arm had to be clear and visible.

Coming up with the ending was also tricky since it is pretty difficult to depict someone forgetting something without simply doing the classic “person-scratching-their-head” shot which I didn’t want to do; in the end, I just went for a simple shot of me dying unexpectedly on the couch whilst reading a book.

Overall, I really liked this project since it definitely makes you think about things like angles, lighting, setting, story etc. As a film major, I enjoy these things and I felt that this project helped me exercise my skills in these fields.

Leave a Reply

