Wk 4 – Art Experience – Art Care Package

acp.jpg

For my art care package I decided to send it to my *drum roll* mom! I noticed that my mom has been a little sad lately so I took this opportunity to create something that would hopefully cheer her up. One of my mom’s favorite things is looking at old photos of when my brother and I were little so I decided to include some of those in my package and base my project on items from those times.

The items I included were:

-photos of my childhood

-some of my old toys

-my favorite tapes from when I was little (Selena Quintanilla tapes)

-a game she bought me that I enjoyed as a kid

-my first pair of earrings

Because I was sending this to my mom, I didn’t really care that some of the items wouldn’t fit in my envelope since my mail box is pretty big so I felt like I had a lot of freedom to choose whatever I wanted to include.  In regards to sending it, I ended up simply placing my package in the mail box and having my mom find it the next day when she went to check the mail.  My plan for cheering her up thankfully worked since she was smiling the whole day after she opened it and even played the the tape I put in there while she cleaned so I was very happy about that 🙂

  1. How is sending someone an ACP similar to sending someone a Snapchat? It’s similar in the sense that you are sharing something very personal with someone who you may or may not even know.

 

  1. How is sending someone an ACP different from sending them a Snapchat? Unlike some ephemera, a Snapchat story or snap does not last forever. I guess it depends on what items one chooses to have in their ACP (ex: if they’re perishable) but for the most part, tangible items last longer and, in my opinion, can mean more.

 

  1. What do you think of ephemera? Is it precious? Or trash? Does it gain in value over time? Does your grandma’s parking ticket from half a century ago mean something to you? What about her tickets from Woodstock? What might your grandkids think if you one day gave them the bead bracelet you wore at Coachella? I’m one of those people that believes ephemera is precious and I actually keep a box of memories in my closet of things I’ve collected over the years that I look back on from time to time and hope to show my kids one day if I’m blessed enough to have any. Just this winter break I was at the hospital and I actually kept the wristband they gave me and put it in my little box instead of throwing it away because, to me, it was an important event and I want to look at that someday and remember that 2017 started with one of the most important events of my life.

 

  1. Is there a difference between art that is seen by many people, like a painting in the Museum of Modern Art, and art that is seen by few, like the ACP you send to someone? I think that depends on the person; there are some people who believe that paintings and sculptures are the only form of art there is and others who believe anything can be considered art- from films to even the nature around us. I think it varies from person to person where they draw the line of what they consider art but as for myself, I would consider something like an ACP art since it is beautiful and has meaning behind it.

 

  1. You can take a Snapchat and a friend on the other side of the globe can view it, all within seconds. To make an ACP and send it even to a nearby friend will take days. Does this time and effort difference mean something? How is fast better? How is slow better? I do believe the time and effort means something because it is what it is- time and effort. Since those things can’t be bought, I think if someone’s willing to spend those things on you, regardless of what they send you, it makes it more meaningful since they are also, in addition, willing to give you something that cannot be replaced. Fast may be better because whatever they send you can make you feel like you are with the other person or experiencing something in real time with them however, one may argue that slower is better since it builds things like anticipation.

 

  1. People sometimes say things like prepare a meal with love. Can you prepare a meal with love as fast as you can get food at a McDonald’s drive-thru? Does an ACP have the possibility of containing a sort of “love” different from a Snapchat? I believe preparing a meal with love in the same time as it takes to get a meal from McDonalds relies more on your skill in the kitchen rather than how much time you spend on it; as long as you prepare it with the person’s well-being in mind, I don’t think it matters how long it took you to prepare (although the more careful, which could make it take longer to prepare, you are while making it does help in showing how much you care). I think an ACP does have a sort of “love” to it but in my opinion, I believe that love is derived off the fact that you are giving someone something tangible that you touched/ used at some point therefore making it a more intimate experience rather than something that is online that will fade away in a day or less. I think exclusivity has something to do with it as well- if an ACP is sent to me, only I will see it whereas a snapchat, unless it has been exclusively sent to you, will be shared with everyone.

 

Leave a Reply

