Wk13 – Classmate Conversation – Betty Escorcia

class

During this week’s classmate conversation, I got to meet Betty Escorcia, a graduating senior (CONGRATULATIONS!!) who is a part of Long Beach State’s psychology program.

I spoke with her about her major and mentioned that I was not shocked that she was a psychology major since I thought she was an extremely kind & down to earth person and every encounter I have had at CSULB with someone who studies psychology has been the sweetest person ever, which she found to be very flattering. She also mentioned that she has a minor in Comparative World Literature and that her inspiration for choosing a minor was due to her love of comic books, which the minor has a section in.

Aside from comic books, Betty also spoke about her love of anime; straying away from the most popular ones, she prefers lesser known shows such as Sword Art Online, Death Note and Ouran High School. We bonded over our similar interests such as our love of going on Netflix to watch movies (one of her favorites is Guardians of the Galaxy) or playing video games on our free time, and the fact that we both officially hate / hate on people who own Prius cars, which I thought was hilarious. Another thing we have in common is we both adore The Gorillaz and, much to my jealousy, she revealed that she got tickets to see them live and owns records upon records of their music.

Despite having many hobbies, however, she said that she doesn’t have that much free time at the moment since she has been really busy trying to maintain her +4.0 gpa and get her graduation things all together so she can finally relax. She also revealed that she was excited that she was able to get over a 4.0 since she is eligible to attend a ceremony the school holds for outstanding students tomorrow (April 27, 2017) and get free food and accommodations. After I commented on her Disney Tsum Tsum phone case, she mentioned that another reason why she is so busy is because she works in a center with kids, who also love her phone case as much as I did.

All in all, Betty is one of the sweetest and most genuine people I have met during my first year at CSULB and I feel very honored and blessed to have met her. If I have the chance to meet any more people like herself during the rest of my college career, I will know that I made the right decision in coming to The Beach; if you would like to get to know Betty some more; you can view her site here 🙂

Leave a Reply

